Workshops

“I feel deeply touched by these two days. I have had many of my questions answered and have new approaches to try. I’ve experienced a lot.” Parent, Sydney Workshop 

Optimising Learning for Children with Special Needs

A four week interactive workshop, meeting online once a week.

The workshop is suitable for parents, carers, family members, educational staff and medical professionals living and working with children who have neurological movement conditions, undiagnosed disabilities, conditions linked with global development delay, or who are diagnosed on the autistic spectrum.

You will

  • Learn how your movement and touch can support your child’s development
  •  Recognise opportunities to include learning in everyday activities
  • Utilise the environment you’re in, to help children find support
  • Explore the foundations of balance, movement and the brain and body to working together.
  • Create movement games to enhance skills you already have
  • Recognise how the essential principles of the Feldenkrais Method® can help you optimise learning for children with special needs

The workshop will offer an insight into:

  • Movement as a crucial part of child development 
  • The proprioceptive and vestibular systems through movement 

Who is it for?

People who are in contact with children who require extra support in some capacity.

Designed to an opportunity space for adults to learn new skills and build confidence, the programme will build on what you already know.  There will be time for discussions, sharing experiences and to ask questions.

How will I learn?

This workshop will be highly experiential and will incorporate the presentation of ideas, awareness through movement explorations and interactive small group activities.

Learning through movement is a language in which children are experts. Over four session you’ll have opportunities to be curious, ask questions and develop your understanding of movement and sensation. You’ll build on your own memories of this language which was foremost for you as a child.

With the focus on functional movement, you will learn through sensory and movement activities, to create new practical approaches to support the children in your life.

You will take away ideas to explore in the week between each session.

Dates, Prices & Booking

The workshop is a series of 4 sessions, 1 and half hour each session via Zoom. No individual workshop attendance is available. 

Each series has been scheduled to different world time zones. Book onto whichever time zone suits you.

UK & Europe Series for 2020: 4 Saturdays

This series is not available. Please email choose the Australia or USA series


Australia Series for 2020: 4 Sundays

week 1: 15 November | week 2: 22 November | week 3: 29 November | week 4: 6 December 

Time: 18.30 Brisbane. 19.30 Melbourne. 16.30 Perth. For Europe this is: 8.30am UK. 9.30am Belgium.


USA Series for 2021: 4 Saturdays 

week 1: 9 January | week 2: 16 January | week 3: 23 January | week 4: 30 January

Times: 13.30 PT. 16.30 ET.  For Europe this is: 21.30 UK. 22.30 Belgium. 8.30am the next day for Melbourne.


Prices

Individual price for the workshop: £69 | €79 | Aus $125 | US $93

Currency conversion equivalent will be charged on booking.

2 person package: £83 | €91 | Aus $150 | US $107

2 person package can include parents, family members, carers, child’s physio, child’s teacher or someone who is closely linked to children.

Booking will be done via CVent, hosted by Jenni Evans (Australian based practitioner)

Individual consultancy appointments with Practitioners are available. Please contact the Practitioner separately. Practitioner profiles are here

The project is founded on and shaped by the principles of the Feldenkrais Method®.

Movement My First Language Website © 2019. Photo credits: Laura Montag for Lou Coleman.